Lewes, Glynde & Beddingham Brass Honours Players Commitment

We were sad to say goodbye to Jake Skingle, Andrew Wingrove and Richard Sherlock at the end of last year.

Jake has gone of to University, but still pops in when he’s home and we were pleased to see him at our Christmas Concert. Changes to his shift pattern meant that Andy was no longer able to make our Thursday night rehearsals, though he still continues to play with his other bands. Andy spent 9 years with the band, and we are very grateful to him for his support of the band over that time.

Richard joined the band on euph in 2010, though he has been known to play bass or baritone on more than one occasion to help out.  He’s even contested on bass for the band! Richard has also been a stalwart committee member and will be very much missed.  We wish him well with our friends at Uckfield Concert Brass.

On the up side, we were very pleased that Adam Kearley has returned to the band on cornet.  Adam joins his wife (and Principal Cornet) Christina, on our front row. This has allowed our longest serving member, Tony Line, to return to his favourite instrument – euphonium. The band and Ian, our MD are extremely grateful to Tony for being so willing to move around for the good of the band.

MD Ian Stewart presented the Arthur Lucas Cup for the Most Improved Player at the band’s final rehearsal of 2017.  The award went to 1st horn player, Tom Littlewood. Ian said that, throughout the year, Tom’s sound, technique and confidence have continued to improve, and he has covered all three horn parts, plus cornet for the band.

Ian also presented a new trophy, The Musical Director’s Award. He has provided this trophy to recognise commitment, overall performance and bandsmanship within the band.  The inaugural recipient was Soprano player, Simon Emberley. Ian said that Simon hadn’t dropped a stitch at either rehearsals, concerts and contests over the year, and that his contributions as a committee member had remained unswerving.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *